top of page

Interview with an Adoptee

This is an interview with an anonymous person who has been adopted.

Me: What is your ethnicity?

Anon: I am Vietnamese

Me: What age were you adopted?

Anon: I was adopted at 7 months from the Southern part of Vietnam.

Me: When did your adoptive parents tell you that you were adopted?

Anon: My adoptive parents automatically told me I was adopted whenever they knew I was able to listen. They bought me books, showed me pictures and told me stories about other adoptees. They wanted to make sure I knew where I came from & the purpose for it all. That it was something beautiful and not horrible like most of society make it seem today. They especially made sure I knew I was a child of God first and foremost which is probably the most comforting thing about it all.

Me: How did that affect you?

Anon: I never really thought of it until I was maybe fifteen. I don't think I’ve ever let it affect me negatively, I try not to let negative questions or comments in. It definitely makes you question a lot of things and the purpose of it all.

Me: Have you ever met your birth mom? Is she still alive?

Anon: Sadly, I have not met my birth parents and I do not know if they are still alive. I would love/hate to find that out...

Me: What is the most hurtful thing someone has said regarding your ethnicity?

Anon: Wow, this is tough because I’ve gotten so many racial slurs all of my life. It definitely hurts and I don’t numb it because it shouldn’t have to be. Racism is ridiculous where I live and I just don’t respond, roll my eyes, or if I’m in a sassy mood I snap back haha. I think every comment hurts equally; it hurts me personally and hurts me for them because they think it’s okay to say stuff like that in general. I would say they’re ignorant, but you just can’t try to cover up for them anymore..

Me: Describe when you finally accepted yourself and started being happy.

Anon: I started accepting myself just recently to be honest. I’m still not all the way there, but I believe God is moving and working in my life where I can tell my story of how adoption is beautiful for His glory.

Me: Are people accepting if other cultures where you live? If not describe what it’s like.

Anon: I would say yes and no..because like I said before, where I live, many people just haven’t caught up with the times or they’re just jerks. It’s hard living in a place where diversity is very rare and trying to accept that you don’t look the same as literally everyone around you. Even religion is really tight because I live in the Bible Belt. I’m obviously not speaking for everyone, but it’s enough to make a difference. In the end, skin color, race, religion, absolutely none of that matters to me. You’re a human; I don’t understand why all of that matters so much to people.

Me: What do you think is people’s stereotype of you?

Anon: Since I’m Asian, it’s that I’m super, super smart, I can play every instrument really well, people will slant their eyes back at me; basically, that I’m good at everything because they think we were just “born with it.”

TAGS

No tags yet.
bottom of page